Ghee vs Butter Labels: Fat per Tbsp, Milk Allergen Line, Grass-Fed Wording and Storage
The short answer: per tablespoon, the ghee panel we read lists more fat than the butter panels we read, and the serving weighs a gram less. 4th & Heart Original Ghee lists 13g of total fat and 10g of saturated fat in a 1 Tbsp (13g) serving. Kerrygold’s butter pages list 11g or 12g of total fat and 8g of saturated fat in a 1 Tbsp (14g) serving. The rest of the difference sits in the wording: “clarified butter”, “grass-fed”, the milk allergen line, storage and the smoke point. Here is how to read each one, using the brands’ own labels and pages.
How we wrote this: the ghee figures come from the Nutrition Facts panel and ingredient line on 4th & Heart’s Original Ghee product page, the jar front image there, and the brand’s FAQ and Why Ghee pages, viewed in October 2026. The butter figures come from Kerrygold’s Unsalted Butter and Salted Butter pages. We have not tested either product, and a jar or wrapper in a store may differ from the web page.
Ghee vs butter at a glance
| Line (per 1 Tbsp) | 4th & Heart Original Ghee | Kerrygold Unsalted Butter | Kerrygold Salted Butter |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serving weight | 13g | 14g | 14g |
| Calories | 120 | 100 | 100 |
| Total Fat | 13g, 17% | 12g, 15% | 11g, 14% |
| Saturated Fat | 10g, 50% | 8g, 40% | 8g, 40% |
| Trans Fat | 0g | 0g | 0g |
| Sodium | 0mg | 0mg | 100mg, 4% |
| Total Carbohydrate | 0g | 0g | 0g |
| Ingredient line | Clarified butter (milk) | Pasteurized Cream, Skimmed Milk, Cultures | Pasteurized cream, salt |
| Smoke point, as the maker states it | 485°F (4th & Heart) | Not stated by Kerrygold | Not stated by Kerrygold |
Percentages are the % Daily Values each brand prints. By our arithmetic, the ghee lists 1g more total fat and 2g more saturated fat per tablespoon than Kerrygold Unsalted, while its serving weighs 1g less. Panel numbers are rounded, so small gaps like these are a guide to the label, not a lab result.
Fat and saturated fat per tablespoon
Read fat lines at the same serving, and check the gram weight next to “1 Tbsp”. 4th & Heart lists 13g for a tablespoon of ghee; Kerrygold lists 14g for a tablespoon of butter. 4th & Heart’s explanation for the gap is that butter carries water and milk solids that ghee does not. On its Why Ghee page, it describes traditional butter as “typically 82% butterfat, with 17% of its formula being water” and its own ghee as “100% pure butterfat”. Those are 4th & Heart’s figures for butter in general, not Kerrygold’s.
The panel on 4th & Heart’s product page lists 20 servings per container. By our arithmetic that matches the 9 oz jar (about 255g at 13g per tablespoon), so check the servings line on the 16 oz or 32 oz jar if you buy one of those. For how serving size and %DV work in general, see our guide to reading a nutrition facts label.
“Clarified butter” on a ghee jar
The jar front reads “GHEE CLARIFIED BUTTER”, and the ingredient line is one item: “Clarified butter (milk).” 4th & Heart says ghee and clarified butter are close but “not exactly the same”. In its FAQ, clarified butter is butter melted until the water evaporates and the milk solids are removed once the fat is clear. On the Why Ghee page, its ghee “cooks long after water has evaporated to brown the milk solids”, and the milk solids are then “removed through filtration process”. That is the brand’s description of its own method. Other ghee makers may describe theirs differently, so read each jar.
The milk allergen line
Ghee is made from butter, and butter is made from milk. The ingredient line on 4th & Heart’s product page reads “Clarified butter (milk).” The brand’s FAQ explains why: “Because our ghee originates from cow’s milk, we declare it as an allergen on the packaging.”
That format follows the federal rule. Under the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA), milk is one of the major food allergens, and a label must name the food source either in a “Contains” statement next to the ingredient list or in parentheses after the ingredient, as in “(milk)”. Kerrygold’s butter ingredient lines name cream and milk directly.
The jar front also carries a “LACTOSE FREE” badge, and the FAQ says the ghee is “lab-verified lactose-free” and that “lactose and casein are removed during the cooking and filtration process.” Those are 4th & Heart’s statements. They do not change the milk declaration on the label, and the label alone cannot tell you whether ghee is right for a milk allergy or lactose intolerance. If you or someone you cook for has either, ask your doctor or allergist before adding ghee.
“Grass-fed” and “pasture-raised” wording
The 4th & Heart jar front reads “GRASS-FED & PASTURE-RAISED”, and the FAQ says the brand sources “New Zealand and Australian grass-fed, pasture-raised” butter. Kerrygold says “All Kerrygold butter comes from the milk of grass-fed cows”. Both are the brands’ own words.
We did not see a USDA grass-fed mark on either brand’s images. The USDA Agricultural Marketing Service does run a voluntary Grass Fed Small and Very Small Producer Program. AMS says it is for producers who market 49 cattle or fewer a year, or lambs from 99 ewes or fewer, and that animals certified under it are fed only grass and forage (apart from milk before weaning), get no grain or grain by-products, and have continuous access to pasture during the growing season. That page describes one USDA program. It does not define what every “grass-fed” claim on a jar means, so treat the words as the brand’s claim and look for a named certifier if that matters to you.
Shelf-stable or refrigerate
4th & Heart’s FAQ says its jarred ghee “does not have to be refrigerated after opening, it’s shelf stable”, gives a shelf life of 18 months, and recommends using it within 3 months of opening. The same FAQ says the brand recommends refrigerating its ghee sticks, which is a different format from the jar. Kerrygold’s product pages we read give no storage line, so follow the wrapper on the butter you buy. For the jar, check the storage wording printed on it, since that is the instruction that goes with your batch.
Smoke point, as each maker states it
The jar front carries a “485°F HIGH SMOKE POINT” badge, and the FAQ repeats 485°F. On its Why Ghee page, 4th & Heart says butter “burns and smokes between 300 and 350 degrees”. That butter range is 4th & Heart’s figure; Kerrygold’s pages do not give a smoke point. A smoke point is a maker’s figure, not a Nutrition Facts line, and it shifts with the oil and the pan. For how other jars state theirs, see our refined vs unrefined coconut oil labels and avocado oil label guides.
Other seals on the ghee jar
The 4th & Heart jar front shows a “KETO CERTIFIED” mark and the Non-GMO Project Verified butterfly. Each comes from the body named on it, and each covers only what that body checks. The FAQ also lists Whole30, Paleo, Gluten Free and Kosher Dairy (Star K) certifications; check the jar for which marks are printed on the size you buy.
How to read a ghee or butter label in five checks
- Serving weight. Look at the grams next to “1 Tbsp”, 13g on the ghee and 14g on the butter here.
- Fat lines at that serving. Compare total fat and saturated fat per tablespoon, as printed.
- Ingredient and allergen line. Ghee and butter both come from milk, and the label should say so.
- Sourcing words. Read “grass-fed” and “pasture-raised” as the brand’s words unless a named certifier’s mark is printed.
- Storage and smoke point. Use what the jar or wrapper says.
The jar
See the 4th & Heart Original Grass-Fed Ghee product page for the label on its own, and browse the pantry collection for other cooking fats.
FAQ
Does ghee have more fat than butter?
Per tablespoon, in the products we compared, yes. 4th & Heart lists 13g of total fat per 1 Tbsp (13g); Kerrygold lists 12g (unsalted) or 11g (salted) per 1 Tbsp (14g).
Is ghee the same as clarified butter?
4th & Heart’s jar calls its ghee “clarified butter”, and its FAQ says the two are similar but “not exactly the same”, because its ghee cooks longer to brown the milk solids before they are filtered out.
Does ghee contain milk?
The ingredient line reads “Clarified butter (milk)”, and 4th & Heart says it declares milk as an allergen on the packaging. Ask your doctor or allergist if you have a milk allergy or lactose intolerance.
Does ghee need to be refrigerated?
4th & Heart says its jarred ghee does not need refrigerating after opening and recommends using it within 3 months of opening. Follow the storage line on your jar.
What is the smoke point of 4th & Heart ghee?
4th & Heart states 485°F on the jar front and in its FAQ. That is the maker’s figure, not a Nutrition Facts line.